Some people think scientific research should focus on solving world health problems. Others think that there are more important issues. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

While some people argue that scientific investigations should emphasise on addressing global health issues, opponents suggest that others pressing concerns should be prioritized. As I believe that the prime mission of research based on science is to elevate human welfare, studying other significant fields besides wellness problems can also contribute comprehensively to this progress.

On the one hand, finding solutions for human well-being is a pressing matter that should be pursued by societies worldwide since they are closely related to human lives. Every scientific research is a breakthrough towards medical success, ushering in new treatments, vaccines and prevention measures for terminal diseases such as cancer, ultimately alleviating mortality rates from severe illnesses. As health issues can affect people’s wellness immediately and on a wide scale, scientists’ efforts in making medical progress will save millions of lives. Take Covid-19 pandemic for example, it posed dire threats to the whole world, from human physical and mental well-being to finances worldwide. Without the medical and technological achievements, and the timely arrival of vaccines, millions of people would have been as killed by Covid-19 virus as several past plagues, typically the Black Death, one of the most fatal bubonic plague pandemics in human history occurred in Europe from 1946 to 1953 which resulted in the death of as many as 50 million people. Additionally, investing in human well-being research often leads to a sustainable economy, as healthy populations can contribute efficiently to workforce productivity and national growth.

On the other hand, advocates of doing research to alleviate or even eliminate other urgent global challenges have grounds to believe that this can bring several advantages by concentrating on several global issues such as environmental crises, or energy shortages. Nowadays, climate change and pollution are always top concerns for governments all over the world. Though people do not see their effects immediately, environmental problems are harming the quality of life in a long-term run and these impacts are extremely tough to reverse. Furthermore, pioneering research on energy resources, such as solar and wind energy, is essential to enhance such renewable energies and simultaneously diminish the reliance on non-renewable ones (such as fossil fuels, nuclear energy) to combat global warming caused by greenhouse effect. Besides that, technological advancements based on scientific studies play a pivotal role in generating a new green power to deal with energy shortages, bringing humanity broader and more sustainable benefits.

In conclusion, while addressing global medical issues is essential, I side with the view that scientists should not only solely conduct their research to resolve such problems, it also should be strategically distributed to tackle other various urgent global challenges with a balanced approach, ensuring the holistic and feasible development for humanity’s future.