Some people think scientific research should focus on solving world health problems. Others think that there are more important issues. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Opinions differ as to whether scientific research should lay a foundation for better global healthcare or other more vital challenges. This essay will examine both viewpoints before elaborating on why I lean towards the latter.

Granted, scientific research can mitigate the serious risks that world health issues pose to human well-being. Epidemics, which are outbreaks of diseases that exert perilous influences on public health on a national scale, often necessitate greater efforts to be effectively tackled. By working together through scientific projects, experts can gather in-depth information, share resources and expertise, potentially accelerating progress in healthcare systems. For instance, during the COVID-19 pandemic, many collaborations of doctors and scientists across countries and regions have provided timely released vaccination and immunization programs to those in need, thereby saving countless lives around the world.

However, others, myself included, would contend that evenly directing scientific endeavors toward education and poverty is equally crucial. Regarding the former, improper education has been one of the most demoralizing situations as it often contributes to higher unemployment rates. With the support of evidence-based studies that provide equal access to schools for everyone, many individuals would be more likely to secure stable to lucrative careers after graduation. In addition, if the impoverished are supported with cutting-edge technology and well-designed welfare programs resulting from scientific initiatives, struggling with how to cover their rent, utilities, and food would no longer be their major hardship.

In conclusion, while world health problems remain one of the most persistent yet insidious issues, I maintain that scientific endeavors should proportionately allocate their focus to alleviating problems such as destitution and limited access to formal learning.