Some people think scientific research should focus on solving world health problems. Others think that there are more important issues. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this day and age, the question of whether scientific research should concentrate on health issues or others has been a topic of debate. This essay will discuss both viewpoints before explaining why I lean towards the latter.

Granted, concentrating on health problems is significantly important. Firstly, it helps people protect themselves. Many epidemics such as Covid 19 or Ebola are the cause of serious health crises. Therefore, scientific research focuses on health issues to develop medical health methods such as vaccines, new treatments and better healthcare systems. For instance, during Covid 19, thanks to global corporate research, vaccines which prevent this bacteria were invented and saved countless lives worldwide. Secondly, focusing on healthcare helps people enhance living quality permanently, it means the average life expectancy will increase and the process of working for them is more effective. Furthermore, good healthcare is the main platform for the others as education and economy. So that is the reason why scientists should see health issues as a big priority because of its benefits.

However, I am convinced that scientists should use resources for other issues such as education, poverty, or the environment. If scientific research leans towards educational innovation, a number of people will have learning opportunities and stable careers. As a result, this reduces the rate of unemployment and encourages the labor to work hard. Moreover, poverty and environmental pollution have numerous negative impacts on social growth. As a consequence, this sector often demands technological inventions to create safe, clean energy and sustainable plans for poor people. In addition, when the poverty condition decreases, more other social problems such as crime and homelessness would decline.

In conclusion, while some people believe that protecting human health is extremely important, I maintain that science should expand the scope in poverty and the environment to develop comprehensively.