Some people think secondary school students should study international news as one of their subjectsOther people say this is a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some argue that international news should be introduced to secondary schools as a subject, while others think that this is squandering their valuable school time. Although being aware of what is going on in the world is essential for students, I am convinced that introducing it as a subject is not crucial due to a number of reasons.

Admittedly, introducing international news to schools as a subject has some advantages. Since being aware of global issues, modern technologies or scientific information can broaden students’ horizons, they can gain long-term benefit in their future lives or future careers. However, not all students intentionally read daily global news at home. If it were introduced as a subject, students wouldn’t have any other choice except for reading. That said, solely reading news, say, about modern technologies, is not sufficient to benefit in the long run. School time is limited, yet in this modern era, there are many subjects that students should learn like IT or STEM to catch up with the modern world. So instead of only reading about scientific explorations or advancements in technology, students should try by focusing more on practical knowledge.

From my perspective, I believe reading about global news is not so important that it should be introduced to schools. Because nowadays students are digital natives and they have great access to any information they need. In other words, they can still find global news from the Internet at home and read on their own, developing it just as a useful habit. Apart from this, some news may have a bad impact on students. Since there are many wars and conflicts between countries. Due to reading news about war or watching violent scenes from social media, students may get emotional damage, leading to the rise of emotionally weak generation.

To conclude, although there are some advantages of introducing international news as a school subject like benefiting from broadened horizons, I strongly believe that it does not deserve to be introduced to schools. Because there are more important subjects to study and some negative effects.