Some people think technology development decreases crime, while others believe it actually encourages crime.

It is argued that illegal activities’ number drops due to new technologies, whereas some individuals think that the new wave of technologies only motivates criminals. Although the former view can be meaningful, I believe that development of modernised machines is responsible for increasing crime rates because of rising numbers of hackers.

First and foremost, modern technologies have enhanced the security of physical materials and private information. There are lots of devices to detect a criminal or to prevent them committing a burglary or shoplifting, therefore their quantity may have declined. For example, in Singapore there are cameras and alarm systems put in every building, which help organisations monitor every person that visits the store. These devices may be beneficial, however there are other ways to commit heavy crimes that are connected to a person’s private information.

There are lots of different ways to benefit from committing a crime, especially when it comes to technologies. It is much easier to control people and steal their data through phones, whether a criminal is an ordinary fraud or a professional hacker, because through mobile phones people tend to be more vulnerable and might accidentally “spill” their private data. To give an example, in Kazakhstan there are numerous scammers(frauds), who pretend to be bankers and require data from an individual’s credit card, which leads to losing money from the person’s bank account.

To sum up, even though implanting new technologies in security systems may be practical and prevent physical crimes , there is a high chance of being fooled by telephone frauds or hackers.