Some people think technology development decreases crime, while others believe it encourages crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people think developing the technology can support reducing the crime rate, while others believe that it encourages the criminal. In my opinion, I completely support the latter point of view because of some reasons that will be discussed in the essay below.

On the one hand, there are a number of arguments clarifying why several people agree with the first idea. One of the primary causes for this situation is that, to help reduce crime in several ways, security can help monitor public places, and police can use technology to track criminals. Another justification that needs to be considered is that online systems help improve security; for example, in many large cities, they build a lot of CCTV to help the police find and catch the criminals more easily. It also avoids the appearance of crime in communities because it leads to fear for residents.

On the other hand, there are more compelling reasons why I agree with the second idea. One of the principal reasons explaining my stance towards this circumstance is that it creates new types of crime. Cybercrime, such as hacking and online fraud, causes more important issues for residents because nowadays people live in technical lives; criminals can use the internet to steal personal information. Another convincing explanation to mention is that technology allows crimes to happen across countries. For instance, hackers can have a chance to access their bank account and steal data and important information, like passwords and personal addresses, by popular online systems or links on websites.

In conclusion, although technology helps the police and brings a fresh environment, I still believe that technological development leads to problems about information theft in media.