Some people think that a huge amount of time and money is spent on the protection of wild animals and that this money could be better spent on the human population. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent times, it has been believed that a colossal amount of time and money has been allocated to the conservation of endangered animals instead of diverting these resources to projects that directly benefit humans. While this thinking is valid to a certain extent, I still firmly disagree with it for several reasons.

The first justification is that despite tremendous resources allotted to preserving wild animals, the existence of countless species keeps being threatened by human activities. In fact, various campaigns and organizations for protecting endangered animals have been established so far, and thousands of dollars have been invested. However, the extinction rate of many species, such as rhinos, has recently continued to increase inexorably. As such, this is a testament to how past efforts to preserve wildlife seem inadequate, let alone excessive.

In addition to this, the relationship between the human race and wildlife is unequivocally inseparable. It is indisputable that if a single animal disappears from its local habitat, the food chain in that region would be completely disrupted, leading to the whole local ecosystem being destroyed immensely. A pertinent example of this is that bumblebees play an indispensable role in agriculture as pollinating promotes the growth of crops. Thus, the shortage of this vital species possibly causes a decrease in agricultural productivity, thereby resulting in a tremendous financial loss for farmers. In conclusion, considering the inadequate resources allotted to conservation projects and the indispensable bond between humankind and wildlife, I am of the opinion that more efforts should be made to protect wild animals.