Some people think that a person can never understand the culture of a country unless they speak the language. Do you agree with this opinion?

Language plays a vital role in any country’s culture. Even some countries have the culture blended with their knowledge. Countries like India and other south asian countries have several languages and it’s changes in every region. The culture can be perceptible based on the regions and sometimes langualge can be useful to indicated which culture they belongs to.

The best way to understand any culture is to learn their native language. For instance, many tribes in Africa have a different culture. From the ousider’s perspective they’ll seems to be same, but when we dig out in details some core differences can be detected. The gulf countries which have Muslim majority is also the same case, we can understand their culture the best way possible from their language. Language is not a always neccesary term to get exposure about any culture. We can see on Histore channel showing the culture and ways of many tribes. But we can observe the channel staff don’t really get used to the native language, they just learn some basic phrases and get a help from google translator.

My personal opinion would be, If youreally want to know about any culture in depth then you must learn their language for atleast intermediate level. But If you just want exposure about the culture then you can still manage to understand it just by learning basic words and regular phrased. You can also take help from google translor, which can be helpful in this scenario.

After all It’s just a language, combination of words to showcase and share the emotions and information.