Some people think that all lawbreakers should be taken into prison. In contrast, others believe there are better alternatives (for example, doing work or learning skills in the community). Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, crime is one of the main worldwide subjects. Some people believe that all lawbreakers are put in prison to ensure the safety of other citizens, while others reject this view and find that community service is a way to reform offenders. In this essay, I will support each statement and give my own point of view.

On the one hand, some people think that the prison is the most common punishment for all offenders to prevent future crime. Additionally, it is considered that the prisons provide a security to keep criminals away from society. What I mean by that is some criminals pose a threat to society. That is wht I think that prisons might be more logical punishment. However, many prisoners re-offend when they are released.

On the other hand, many people opine that sending prisons is not a good deterrent but community service makes offenders useful in their local communities. They are required to clean streets or learn specific job skills. Furthermore, crimes can be minor or serious, which is why many people believe that prison sentences are not suitable for all types of crimes. Also, by supporting their opinion, it could help reduce the overcrowding of prisons, and avoid the cost of imprisonment. I believe that their thoughts can be also justified. Their methods focus on rehabilitation and rehabilitated prisoners are less likely to re-offend.

To sum up, although both views are argued logically, I completely believe alternative methods are more effective and useful for society.