Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

It is believed by some that teenagers should be required to volunteer their free time to help the local community since that would be beneficial for both the individual teenager and society as a whole. I completely agree with this notion since helping people makes youngsters aware of how they can take care of others while also providing society with a free source of manpower.

First of all, volunteering helps elevate teenagers’ moral values. The reason is that the process of helping others lets teenagers experience the happiness and fulfillment of giving away, donating their time and effort without being paid. They are made aware of their power to impact their community, in a positive light, thus, being able to better apply their lectures about morality that they had in schools. In addition, seeing people of the same age doing their best to help the community will inspire teenagers to accomplish good deeds similarly. For example, a sophomore who sees others in his class donating their time to fix the school’s library is likely to join in doing the work.

Another positive aspect of making teenagers volunteer is the free source of manpower that the government gains. In developing countries such as Vietnam, the workforce is always lacking and any reinforcement, no matter how small it is, is appreciated. High schoolers can be helpful doing many trivial tasks such as fixing furniture, making and delivering food for the homeless, cleaning public facilities… For instance, a second-year high school class has around 40 students, and even half of that number of people would suffice for cleaning the local hospital.

In conclusion, having teenagers donate their time helping the locals is rewarding for not only the children since they get the chance to apply their moral lessons but also the locals since they gain a free workforce.