Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals have the assumption that unpaid work to help the local community should be mandatory for all teenagers, as they believe this will be beneficial for the teenager and the local society overall. I absolutely disagree with this statement, because it would reduce the teenager’s free time, and it would also remove the benefit of doing voluntary work.

If all teenagers were to be forced to do unpaid labor, it would reduce the time they have to do other activities. Teens are sufficiently busy with their studies and schoolwork, making unpaid work compulsory would decrease the time they have to study or build skills. Consequently, this would be detrimental for their grades and their future, as they would be less focused on school and therefore would learn less. In the long run, this would be harmful for the community as a whole, as once these teenagers grow up, the quality of their skills would be inadequate, subsequently decreasing their work productivity. For example, a vast majority of students who do horribly at school end up not providing much in terms of work quality to the community in their adulthood.

If unpaid work were to be made mandatory for all young people, it would also remove the credit given to those who voluntarily work. Doing voluntary work is useful for a teenager as it improves their credentials and adds to their resume, which will increase the odds of them successfully enrolling in their dream university or job. If this type of work were to be required, it would reduce the overall value of voluntary work, as all teenagers would have it in their resume. This is important, as a majority of teenagers who are accepted into elite universities have done some sort of voluntary work in their youth, which sets them apart from the others.

In conclusion, while mandatory unpaid work could help the local population, the long term effects are much more detrimental for both the teenagers and the community as it prevents the teenagers from building the skills they truly need.