Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others think that they should be allowed to study subjects related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, education is seen as a necessary investment that would provide useful skills to extend during the next few years. While some people believe that the educational field should be free of choice for university students, there is a commonly held belief that they should only be limited to subjects that would be helpful in the future. I will be discussing both views before providing my opinion.

On one hand, most would agree that everyone should have freedom of choice, especially when choosing subjects or career paths. Due to the fact that it would be more interesting, making it easier to concentrate and gain knowledge. Moreover, there are students who are talented in many other fields. Allowing them to choose their interest would be beneficial for many factors, for instance; if we expand the branch of studies, like combining arts with other fields, it would grant pupils to enhance their knowledge and learn more about themselves.

In contrast, there is a proposed idea that students should only be limited to particular subjects that would be useful in the future, for example, science and technology. Although, this suggestion would make students have a thorough base of information in that major, it weighs heavier on the negative outcome. To illustrate, competition for jobs would be very high, since the majority of the population mastered the same thing. Another example is goods in the market industry, people’s needs, or the economy overall would be very unbalanced as other necessary jobs lack workers.

To conclude, whilst some subjects are considered necessary for coming times, I truly believe that undergraduates should be able to pursue their goals for their own benefit and the economic state.