Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others think that they should be allowed to study subjects related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

University education system is one of the most widely discussed topics these days. Many people believe that college students should be allowed to choose subjects they like to study. Others think that it is always better to learn subjects that have relevance in the future and I agree with them. Both views will be discussed in this essay.

On the one hand, there are people who claim that college students should be given the privilege of choosing the subjects of study. Usually, the subjects for a particular course are decided by the university. According to these people, doing these courses is not effective and this has to change. If students get the opportunity to choose their subjects, learning will become more interesting for them. In addition, there are students who have talents in many other fields. Therefore, this proposed change in the education system will allow them to enhance their knowledge in a wide variety of subjects and polish their talents. For instance, if we include some arts and cultural subjects in engineering courses, this would pave the way for them to explore other fields. Nevertheless, this will affect the focus and ruin the quality of education.

On the other hand, some people believe that education should be based on the major subjects of the particular course rather than the student’s interest. In their view, when students complete their course, they should have a thorough knowledge of that area. This is only possible if they study the subjects specific to the stream. Moreover, when we consider the future, competition for jobs will be very high and industries will hire only the finest talents. For example, a lot of innovations are happening. New subject topics and research fields have started to come up resulting in the betterment of technologies. Since the employment opportunities will be based on this technological knowledge, it is therefore, highly important that university students should focus more on studying these subjects for their better future.

To conclude, many people are against studying only core subjects; however, it is always better to study these subjects and make their fundamentals strong for a successful future.