Some people think that animal testing for medicine and cosmetics should be banned. Others think it is necessary to guarantee human safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Medicine and cosmetics safety is an essential element that has to be assured in order to consume these products, preventing eventual toxic or dangerous reactions in contact with the human body. As many companies recur to animal testing to ensure a safe product, others consider it an unethical practice and invest in cruelty-free testing.

Animal testing is the oldest way to guarantee that a certain product is harmless for humans, resulting in modern techniques, such as the creation of specific lab-made species, whose only aim is to serve science. Many believe that medication and cosmetics must be experimented on living subjects before getting to our shelves, considering it a crucial part in prevention.

On the other hand, there’s been an increasing awareness concerning this topic, to the point of many activists and companies getting involved and advocating for cruelty-free practices in their products, which are believed to be outdated and selfish and that could be easily substituted by ethical alternatives that rely on the latest scientific resources.

Finally, while it’s undeniable that certain products have to be assessed to prevent dangerous outcomes for our health, people don’t take into account the lack of consent that animals can’t naturally give, being submitted to the scientists or cosmetologists will. This shows that human lives are held in a higher regard than animal ones, making the whole process highly unethical.

To sum up, while safety checks are crucial for certain products, we now have the tools and the technologies not to resolve into cruelty, and it’s important to consider this factor when we have to make choices about what we consume.