Some people think that books are losing importance as a source of information and entertainment. To what extend do you agree?

Books are thought to have lost their importance and prevelance in contemporary times, and people do not consider books a reliable way of recieving information and entertaining. I strongly agree with this statement, because with technological advancements, people prefer to enhance their knowledge using internet, and there are also many engaging recreational pursuits that can be replaced.

To begin with, today, internet is used as a strong source of information, which may considerably undermine the importance of books. Individuals tend to choose the easiest way to access information they need, thus deciding to browse through the net and recieve desired information in a short time. Moreover, the high weight of traditional books and overwhelming page-by-page searching process may prevent them from reading tangible books. In contrast, they can easily access any information needed just using their portable and light smartphones.

Additionally,there are much more interesting entertainments than books that people may choose during their free time. The more technological developments, the more fascinating recreational activities there are. In past, people may have had fewer choices for their pastimes, thus attracting towards reading books and spending a considerable amount of time perusing. However, now humanbeings are facing a vast range of hobbies in favour of technology growth, which serve as strong deterrents for studying. To illustrate, people may opt to allocate their spare time to playing online games, or watching their favourite videos on YouTube, or even engaging in virtual-reality activities, hence losing the opportunities for reading books.

In conclusion, although the importance and value of reading books cannot be denied, in my opinion, these precious sources of authentic data and healthy entertaiments have been faded in the shadow of internet and technology. As technology provides individuals with much more pace and user-friendliness, and also so many hobbies have been introduced into society, which serves as strong tempations to not read. I contend that the implemention a balanced approach is a necessity to help preserve the culture of reading in modern societies.