Some people think that certain old buildings are more worth preserving than other ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Maintaining the original form of an old building is quite expensive. For that reason, I can’t help but agree with some people’s view that old buildings that have historical value and can still serve their purpose in modern society deserve more preservation than any old building that is simply famous for its outlook.

Although all old buildings scream with prestige due to their impressive and nonpareil architectural design, it is important for governments, especially third-world nations, to prioritize pragmatism.

Developing nations have many programs to focus on that require more funding and resources than safeguarding all ancestral buildings, such as combatting poverty, malnutrition, and low literacy rates. Therefore, selected structures that were built fifty years to centuries ago, such as libraries, houses, hospitals, and commercial buildings that can be reutilized with their intended purpose to contribute to the growth of the economy are worthier of financial support.

If the government prioritizes investing in the rehabilitation of old-aged buildings that are still functional, then not only will it preserve a tangible link to the past that captures the glamour of bygone eras and the creative minds of brilliant architects and engineers, but people will also experience firsthand the feeling of being in a historic atmosphere that continues to serve its purpose with the same grace and elegance as it did when it was first erected.

On the other hand, all buildings with feeble structures that can no longer be maintained need to be demolished. Everything has its end and must be built anew with a modern structure. However, if the structure holds a historical rite, it can be renovated, but the government needs to seek a sponsor who can help them fund the complete renovation and not only rely on public funds. It should be someone who values more the history of the building than capitalization.

Taking all of this into account, the preservation of old buildings requires money, effort, and a profound understanding of history. Hence, the government and its people need to decide wisely which old buildings provide historical importance and functionality to modern society. These remnants of the past in the city and rural landscape embody the cultural and artistic heritage of one’s nation. It’s a reflection of the passion of the craftsmen who built these enduring buildings, which have survived the test of time, disasters, and wars. This can be an inspiration to the young bloods who aspire to build buildings that do not merely possess intricate beauty but also a functionality that never gets old, as they expose themselves to the rich history of craftsmanship.