Some people think that certain old buildings are more worth preserving than other ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that particular ancient constructions should be paid more attention than modern ones in terms of maintenance. I vehemently disagree with this stance.

On the one hand, I acknowledge that certain old buildings should be preserved due to the values they can offer to younger generations and tourism. Firstly, these buildings have been retaining historical evidence throughout history. Indeed, some buildings record important historic events that can remind youngsters of their ancestors’ merits and exploits, forming a close relationship between old and new generations. Secondly, the tourism of a nation can benefit from these constructions. With unique designs, ancient buildings can draw tourists’ attention via extraordinary images or videos on the Internet, which facilitates the development of tourism of a province or a whole country.

However, I do not concur with the statement since moder-day buildings should be maintained equally because of several factors. To begin with, safety of modern buildings can be ensured thanks to frequent preservation. For example, in Vietnam, fire accidents in modern hotels can happen suddenly, pose a great threat to people’s lives. Nevertheless, if these buildings undertake regular inspections and maintenance, the causes leading to life-threatening situations can be identified and fixed immediately. In addition, the quality of life of people living in these buildings can be secured. For example, a leaking facet or a broken bulb that can be an annoying occurrence should be amended promptly, maintaining the living standard of family members.

In conclusion, I am not convinced that old building should receive more amendments that modern ones since benefits moder buildings bring about are valuable to people’s lives.