Some people think that certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, individuals think that some detainees should be allowed to serve as community workers, rather than serious sentences. I strongly agree with this statement and I think these people should be given a chance to improve.

Firstly, prisoners have human rights however they are limited. We should not blame them when they might have done the crime in a situation out of control. It is right the law might have decided the punishment depending on the evidence provided, but it is not always right. They might be guilty however still are blamed for something they never did. Therefore their punishment should be to rearrange their behavior in the jail and their level of crime. Moreover, prisoners should be allowed to apologize and volunteer work in society by the governments. For instance, some countries were given the chance to select minor criminals. This opportunity creates confidence in detainees and reenters them into society.

In addition, it is much easier for the prisons to integrate into the community when they are free. Although, the fact many individuals believe that detainees are notorious for their behaviour, plenty of people in jail have made huge efforts to get rid of their past. In this manner, allowing them to do voluntary work could help them reconnect with real life. For instance, some prisoners have decided to start university after regaining freedom. In this sense, doing community work offers both detainees and other individuals the opportunity to understand and accept each other.

To conclude, demanding people from jail might make contributions to the community to link them to their country. The government should give a chance who minor criminals, in this way they can counter to serious crimes.