Some people think that certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars. To what extent do you agree?

It is said by some individuals that criminals should do voluntary works in the society, instead of suffering from imprisonment. I absolutely agree with this idea for low-risk offenders because it can be a way to compensate their crimes, and also, it offers free workers to community.

To begin with, offering unpaid community work may be more constructive rather than harsh punishment for a certain types of the crimes, such as petty theft. In this view, these offenders can have the opportunity to compensate their actions by contributing positively to society. This form of punishment can help offenders to develop a sense of responsibility and connection to the community, which may decrease the likelihood of reoffending. A good illustration for that is voluntary workers who are capable of understanding people better than others after a period of working.

Furthermore, due to high-priced living expenses, governments have usually faced many challenges, especially in the prisons. One of these challenges can be the cost of housing, feeding, and supervising the prisoners, while free work option can be less costly than imprisonment. This means that by requiring non-violent culprits to engage in unpaid jobs, states can reduce the financial burden on the prison system, consequently, allocating this money somewhere better. For instance, by voluntary work in the nursing homes, the additional money can be dedicated for improving the amenities.

In conclusion, some people are of the opinion that lawbreaker should be offered to work free of charge in society, which I totally agree with this idea for petty criminals, owing to the fact that it may be a better way to help society without any harsh punishments for them, and it can also be considered as a cost-effective solution for the government.