Some people think that cinemas will one day close due to the popularity of online streaming services for films and series. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that online platforms for watching movies and series are becoming increasingly popular, causing many people to think that cinemas will become obsolete in the future. I completely disagree with this view, as I strongly believe online streaming media cannot entirely replace cinemas.

Despite the growing popularity of online movie providers, physical movie theaters still attract a large volume of movie fans as they tend to provide a better movie-watching experience. This is because cinemas are generally equipped with modern facilities such as big screens and advanced audio systems for viewers to enjoy excellent visual and sound effects. Moreover, brick-and-mortar cinemas also offer special formats of films like 3D and 4D, enhancing the experience of movie-goers as they can watch the movie as if they were part of it. Additionally, there are many people who prefer going to the cinema since they enjoy the warm atmosphere of collectively watching a movie with others, which may be lacking if they watch movies online.

I would also argue that virtual streaming platforms tend to be common among young adults only, and cinemas are, therefore, still needed for other demographics. In order to watch films online, one is usually required to create and maintain a user account in the movie streaming app, as well as pay for subscriptions. These steps can be inconvenient for the elderly, as they are often less tech-savvy and may find it challenging to watch movies virtually, making them less likely to adopt online streaming providers and more likely to go to the cinema to watch movies instead.

In conclusion, although online streaming services are on the rise, I firmly believe that they cannot supersede brick-and-mortar movie theaters since movie theaters can generally offer a superior watching experience and attract distinct groups of visitors.