Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

It is a controversial issue that both competition and cooperation play crucial roles in people’s personal and professional development. However, whether applying these approaches to students and employees leads to better outcomes is a topic of debate. In this essay, I will argue why competition can serve as a stepping stone towards improvement in the workplace, but why collaboration can make the process more enjoyable and foster collective growth and satisfaction prior to presenting my personal take – balance is the key – on the matter.

On the one hand, it is common knowledge that there will not be any growth if there are no competitive trends. In other words, if a worker or student does not compare himself or herself to anyone, they will not notice any areas they lack in, or the skills they have already mastered, so it is time to learn a new one. Case in point, when the first iPhone was released, Apple did not have any competitors at the same level as them. Consequently, they were not industrious about the next launch unless Samsung entered the market.

Having said that, excessive competition can sometimes worsen the situation by creating unnecessary pressure and taking its toll on one’s self-confidence. In such cases, teamwork proves to be a more effective and sustainable approach. For example, in leading technology companies such as Google, co-working is regarded as a fundamental value. Hence, its offices are designed to encourage group work. Employees cooperate on projects through open discussions and idea sharing, which often results in more innovative outcomes and a stronger sense of satisfaction within the workplace.

It is often said that while some believe competition brings about positive consequences for individuals, others argue that teamwork is a more effective approach to improving performance in both studies and work. Having considered both perspectives in depth, I believe that maintaining a balance between the two is key to achieving success.