Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In modern life, there is a question about what is better: competition or cooperation? This question causes plenty of discussion among people. Some say that competition is essential for achieving success, while others say that cooperation brings less stress and fewer conflicts. I share both positions because in real life it is really important to be in friendly relationships with your classmates or colleagues on a job, but at the same time, one must be persistent in one’s own position to achieve the goal.

From one side, healthy competition stimulates development. People want to show their best side and to be better than others; seeing this position is natural for them. From school time people are making a lot of effort for being number one in the class and to have the most good grades. Afterward, competition is in university, for instance, for getting a scholarship. Moreover, on the workplace, people compete for higher sales or getting a better position. For example, it is scientifically proven that healthy competition at work stimulates people to do their job better.

From the other side, excessive rivalry can cause a lot of conflict and unhealthy relationships between workers. Moreover, it also leads to destruction of trust among employees. If a person thinks only about one’s own success it causes difficulties in achievement of shared goals in a team. In return, cooperation between team members is really important in solving problems. It helps to better communicate, to understand, and to support each other. As an example, when I worked as a nurse, the ability to work together helped us as a team, as well as the patients. I could ask for help and I knew that they would always call me back.

In conclusion, I believe that competition can be beneficial if it remains “healthy” and does not develop into a fight at all costs; however, cooperation is also a valuable characteristic because it promotes harmony, respect for each other, and steady progress.