Some people think that competitive sports have a positive effect on the education of teenagers while others argue that the effect is negative. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some argue that competitive sports have many benefits on education for younger people while others believe that such activities may negatively impact the student. Although engaging in sports such this may increase rivalry among students, I believe it has more advantages such as good physique and improve concentration which are important for learning.

On the one hand, competitive sports such as swimming or basketball may result in a rivalry atmosphere. This is because such sports usually offer a reward for the winner that makes a teenager feel better about themselves when winning. Consequently, if a student loses in a sports competition, she may feel less about herself which may decrease her self-esteem. This may later affect her academic performance in school, resulting in poor grades and even failing the classes. Furthermore, some teenagers may focus more on sports than classes, making them pay less attention to their education.

On the other hand, engaging in competitive sports has many benefits for teenagers. Firstly, it improves their physical and mental health. This is because the more they exercise, the more their body builds muscle, which is very important in maintaining well-being. Many research studies suggest that doing sports from an early age will decrease the risk of illnesses such as diabetes, obesity, and even depression. Another benefit is it will increase their concentration and focus on classes. I believe these advantages are more important for teenagers so they should do more sports.

To conclude, engaging in competitive sports may make teenagers build rivalry and stress due to losing the game, but such a condition can be prevented by teaching them the nature of competition and that losing is common in sports. Therefore, I believe these negative effects can be prevented by teachers and school because such activities have more advantages for the teenagers in both academics and well-being.