Some people think that consumerism can boost the economy and create business and job. Others consider that society becomes a "throw-away society" producing unnecessary waste. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In today’s world, it is often considered that consumerism can significantly boost the economy by providing job opportunities for businesses, whereas others argue that society is becoming a “throw-away society”, generating unnecessary waste. Although I recognise some potential downsides of the consumer culture, I believe that the economic benefits and job prospects that consumerism offer are far more effective.

On the one hand, the consumerism has a detrimental impact on the environment. With the rise of social media, influencers have manipulated users to purchase more trendy clothings by the catchy titles. Buying new items has become increasingly common among young adults, resulting in the significant amount of disposed textile waste. As a result, the societies in most urban zones became “throw-away societies”, thereby leading to the greater number of landfils which often release toxic chemicals to the air which results in an air pollution. However, the impact of these mentioned landfils is not at an extreme level. Hence, it can be fixed easily by more frequent sustainable shopping habits.

On the other hand, the advantages of consumerism are more prominent than their negative sides. Firstly, they have a strong influence on the local and international economies. For instance, renowned global brands, which are one of the root causes of a consumerism, often promote their products that increase their number of sales, generating large amount of money. This leads to a boosted economy of the nations that possess or dominate this brands. Secondly, a consumerism offers various job prospects. By the popularity of digital media platforms that contain influential personas working in fashion and cosmetic industries, the necessity for hiring more fashion-conscious persons is growing, causing employment opportunities. Consequently, some new workplaces have been constructed to employ more individuals, leading to less unemployed individuals.

In conclusion, some assert that a consumerism can significantly accelerate the economy and equip with more businesses, whereas others consider that society turns into a “throw-away society”, making an unnecessary waste. Even though I acknowledge some drawbacks of the consumerism, I firmly believe that the job prospects and economic advantages are far more significant by the promotion of local businesses.