Some people think that consumerism can boost the economy and create business and job. Others consider that society becomes a "throw-away society" producing unnecessary waste. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Consumerism,which is the idea that customers buy goods and services for their personal happiness,plays an immense role in today’s society.Some people believe that the consumerism assists businesses grow by creating jobs and services,whilst others have different opinion and argue that it leads to waste and environmental pollution.In this essay,I am going to analyze both views and present my own opinion.

Many hold the view that the consumerism is an essential engine of economic growth.When consumers continually purchase goods and services,they stimulate demand,which in turn encourages businesses to produce more.In addition,some say that large corporations may have an upside to expand across different regions,offering employment opportunities in various sectors,such as management,production,and customer service.This leads to increased economic stability,decreased unemployment rates,and career growth opportunities for individuals.A final point is that thanks to consumerism people will be able to keep pace with fast-changing technology.

Conversely,it is argued by some that the biggest downside of the consumerism is contamination.It is widely believed that the consumerism promotes unsustainable practices that encourage waste and environmental degradation.In a consumerist society,products are often thrown away before they are truly worn out.For instance,people like to compete with their neighbors,like ‘Keeping up with Joneses’ symptom,as they buy the latest version of everything.As a result,the community overfills bins with the unnecessary items that they might not need.Another point is that if consumerism were on a large scale,it would result in the depletion of the natural resources,which can not be replaced.Furthermore,producing items in large quantities will inevitably result in more low-quality goods being manufactured.This can decline people’s desire to buy high-quality products,affecting the economy adversely.

In conclusion,while the consumerism may sound appealing for most people,like offering opportunities for boosting economy and create job chances,its consequences can not be overlooked.From my perspective,producing goods in an excessive amount has more drawbacks than its benefits.