Some people think that developments involving the internet have brought people closer together while others think that people and communities have become more isolated. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some argue that the World Wide Web has brought people closer than ever before, while others say that they have become more isolated. This essay agrees with the latter part of this statement because, although the internet has helped with easy access to information, many have forgotten the old ways of acquiring such news.

Nowadays, it is very easy for individuals to get reports through the internet, in the past people had to wait for the daily newspapers to read the latest story of the day. Now with access to phones and laptops, people can now search for information on the internet and find updates on the latest news. For example, the BBC has an app feature that gives notifications to users on recent stories that are taking place around the world. However, I think this has prevented people from getting information the old-fashioned way, which was talking to people.

It is beneficial to know how to acquire such news through physical conversations. Most of the time these conversations take place in coffee shops and public spaces where most often individuals from the community talk about recent situations, whether it is political or celebrity gossip, and enjoy the company of others. Meanwhile, many younger generations are not interested in such gatherings and isolate themselves from such social gatherings. For instance, when using public transport, most people are attached to their phones and avoid conversation with the person next to them, resulting in an awkward silence. I think this isolation could affect communities and people.

In conclusion, even though the internet has brought people closer, it has also isolated many from the outside world. Since many nowadays do not physically talk with each other, a lot of people have confined themselves to their own world.