Some people think that employers should focus on the personal qualities of potential job seekers instead their academic qualifications and experience. To what extent do you agree with this opinion?

Employers, willing to create a solid foundation for the company’s future growth by hiring reliable workforce, value various qualities applicants offer. Many argue that the personal qualities of job applicants ought to be taken into consideration in the first place, whereas others insist on the importance of academic qualifications and work experience. I partly agree with the idea of personal qualities being superior; however, the importance of academic qualifications shouldn’t be denied either.

On the one hand, applicants possessing personal qualities, in terms of helpfulness for the company’s thriving, are extremely valuable. Soft skills such as team-playing and friendliness are vital when it comes to working for other organizations: employees with those qualities tend to cause less conflicts and escalation in the workplace by building healthy relationships with their coworkers. Moreover, such friendly ambiance in the office can be pleasing and rejuvenating for both workers and customers, and therefore rises the willingness to make profit of the first and visit the organization again of the latter. Additionally, other qualities like diligence and earnestness are welcomed due to the loyalty they create, which obviously makes its contribution to the increase of the income.

On the other hand, academic qualifications and work experience shouldn’t be overlooked either. Diplomas and certifications are the rigid proofs of education, which is vital in terms of competence and confidence it provides. No matter the irrelevance of the qualification to the job one does in the company, it still indicates discipline, consistency and hard work. Moreover, many people obtain half of the soft skills mentioned above in the educational institutes they attend. Besides, work experience can help people make right decisions under stressful conditions and repercussions.

In conclusion, employers should pay attention to the personal qualities of job applicants as they indicate the reliability of the future employees. However, they should also pay attention to the academic qualifications and work experience, as most of the time those are interlinked with the skills that are highly valued.