Some people think that environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve, while others think that the government cannot solve these environmental problems unless individuals make some action. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Nowadays, the significance of environmental protection is being widely recognised. While some people perceive that there’s nothing individuals can do to cope with large-scale environmental issues, others believe that authorities won’t achieve anything regarding this without the assistance of individuals. In this essay, I shall discuss both views in depth, and then illustrate why I believe the participation of individuals is crucial to solving these issues in the environment.

There are numerous compelling reasons why some hold the view that ordinary people cannot contribute to resolving big issues in the habitant and the prominent one is that the strength of each individual is limited. As a result, all our efforts and attempts could only have a minimal impact on the overall situation. For example, a recent survey conducted in Japan revealed that the total amount of greenhouse gas emissions from a single volcanic eruption can exceed the sum of the world’s industrial emissions for a decade. As can be seen, people have good reason to believe that the efforts of an ordinary person are insignificant to the vastness of problems in the environment.

Conversely, some oppose this notion and say that citizens can make a significant contribution to solving environmental problems by collaborating with the government, as the authorities cannot proceed without the support of members of the society, so the involvement of civilians is the foundation of success on the administrative level. For instance, the public can encourage citizens to pick up the rubbish in the park and turn off the lights when leaving, which is beneficial to the sustainable development of the world. Therefore, some advocate that involvement of individuals is critical for the government to protect the environment.

The debate on environmental protection is ubiquitous these days. This essay discussed both aspects in detail and took everything into consideration, I am inclined to say that obtaining the support of ordinary people is imperative for the authorities to combat environmental issues that hold much more significance.