Many companies are now tracking employee activity and performance through sophisticated digital tools. While this may increase efficiency, some argue it creates an unhealthy and distrustful work environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement that the benefits of such surveillance outweigh the drawbacks?

Nowadays, many companies apply to use advanced technology to measure employee performance to be more efficient while some people think that employee might demotivate since employer keeps monitoring their bahaviour and performance for the time being. In my opinion, I believe that there can be a way to improve employee’s ability by reviewing their performance constantly with the support of advanced data analytics without time consuming.

On the one hand, some people have concerns about the implication of innovated applications might reduce the trust between employee and company. For example, the top management levels are always tracking occuptional output for each staff daily, and keep pushing them to achieve the certain goals, so that employee’s capability might be slowed down as they do not feel safe to work or they will get anxiety if they do not achieve the planned target.

On the other hand, other companies, especially the cooperate levels, implement those automatic generated dashboard to monitor every department’s performance. Naturally, the specific key performance indicators have to be set up to the sale team to reach the targeted revenue for monthly or yearly, and a sale manager has to check the performance of his team after the sale. After analysis with this modern applications, the low performance area or saleperson can be identified. Additionally, a manager can also figure out the facts based on sale performance level and arrange supports if needed.

In conclusion, companies in this cotemporary era are actively implementing the advanced applications to track the performance without ethical concerns, so that the employer can analysis the team and support the personal development skills or operational upskilling based on employee’s behaviour.