You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

With a single search on the Internet, one could be bombarded with news articles and discussions concerned with animal studies in the present climate. This growing phenomenon has triggered a heated debate: whether animal experimentation should be banned or permitted for scientific purposes. This essay will elaborate on both views regarding this matter before presenting my stance that animal studies can be moralized to some extent, followed by suggesting their potential substitutes.

On the one hand, there exist latent risks associated with the practice of animal experiments. The mainstream of hunting animals for specimens could potentially grow into animal exploitation. For example, without strict laws, species, especially endangered ones, are specifically vulnerable to aggressive scholars. Their craving for recognition in the current competitive scientific community might drive them to animal poaching, with continual experiments. Such scientists could take advantage of legal loopholes to carry out certain unethical schemes on species. That said, concerns over animal experimentation are fairly fathomable.

On the other hand, animal experimentation might be of importance to scientific development. Studies on wildlife could unveil such knowledge about animals, not only for enlightenment but also for future animal protection schemes and habitat conservation. For instance, as the effects of global warming are taking a toll on flora and fauna, species listed in the Red Data Book are under a more serious threat than ever, with potential habitat loss and food scarcity. Knowledge and understanding, therefore, is the key to maintaining the world’s biodiversity. For alternatives, organisms that are diverse in nature, such as worms or AI animal simulators, could supersede conventional animal experimentation. Enforcing laws that justify animal studies without killing them is also worth considering.

In conclusion, while I concur that animal experimentation is somewhat unethical, this method should never be entirely forbidden for the sake of scientific development, especially those that can lead to wisdom and higher awareness.