You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Many people believe that animal testing is cruel and should be considered illegal by the law, whilst others think that these experiments are crucial for scientific discoveries. There can be some exceptional cases where animal testing is necessary, particularly where a replacement can’t be found.

Although experimentation on animals can be seen as a cruel and unethical practice, it is still quite necessary and unavoidable. For example, most medical research needs testing to ensure the peoples’ well-being, from medication to new vaccines, all of them cannot be consumed directly by patients, they have to go through multiple tests and throughout examinations before their production. However, animals on the verge of extinction should be exempt from these experiments, and rely on animals such as rats and rabbits who have higher reproduction rates.

While some scientific fields can rely on alternatives to replace animals. Including the beauty industry, where some companies use animals to test their products. Which proves to be unnecessary, giving that a lot of other beauty brands use plants as a replacement. Whereas the medical field is required to proceed with these experiments. In other words, animals are the closest to human anatomy, promising more accurate results. For instance, animals are the only other creature with a brain, a heart or even an immune system. Therefore, other than animals the only other option would be humans which is more unacceptable.

In conclusion, cruelty aside, medical research should be allowed to use animal testing to provide the best results. Especially with the absence of other suitable alternatives.