Some school leavers travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university What are the advantages and disadvantages of this for their study

Nowadays, some individuals tend to go travelling or have a job for a period of time before officially pursuing their studies at university. Although this tendency, in fact, may bring both advantages and disadvantages, I strongly believe that the bright sides, which are in terms of an ability of practical knowledge accumulation and an ease of financial burdens, are more prevalent compared to shortcomings.

To begin with, when it comes to temporarily leaving schools to go travelling or work, a real-life knowledge practice and less financial issues can be described as undeniable benefits. First, school leavers may have enough experiences to attend such field-trip classes in university courses throughout practical feelings gained. From that, these experienced students may pass the exams with flying colours due to their practical exposures. Furthermore, going to work before pursuing higher education may help students lessen financial burdens. These difficulties are probably a result of concerns about daily living expenses such as housing, commute costs, daily meals, and even school fees, especially those who do not rely on parents’ financial support. As a result, going to work before studying may bring such an adequate amount of money that they can cover their needs. From that, students can go to school without much monetary considerations, making their study much more efficient.

On the other hand, going travelling or work instead of going directly to university also brings an undeniable drawback. To be specific, this could take students a longer time to accomplish their Bachelor’s degrees. Take a standard length of a major as an example, pupils usually finish their university degree during 4 to 5 academic years no matter what major they are pursuing. Nevertheless, more than 5 years could be taken when a person goes to work in advance, leading to the delay of a person’s official graduation. What’s worse is, many job seekers are failed due to a lack of credited qualification, leading to a constant shortage of skilled workers in job market nowadays.

In conclusion, while pupils may take longer time to fulfill their university degree, they do have an adequate amount of real-life knowledge and sum for their later life, which are demonstrated as evident benefits above. As a result, I strongly believe that school leavers who go travelling or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university may have more advantages for their study.