Some school leavers travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to university What are the advantages and disadvantages of this for their study

There is a common trend that certain graduates opt to travel or work prior to start attending universities immediately. I believe that experiencing different life-style before starting a university life would be advantageous for learners because it is an opportunity to explore deeper into themselves, and understand what they truly desire in their future life.

To begin with, by taking a gap year from school life, it gives the chance for students to attempt plenty of things, and discover their genuine character through it. The reason of that is, in many cases, people find it challenging to discover their hidden talents or interest in different things before joining the university, and they are eager to spend their gap year for work in various range of professions, gaining its experience to find which one was the most satisfying and suitable job for them practically. Thus, alleviates the pressure of choosing their major in the university, and eventually makes them follow the right career path in the future.

Also, it is widely believed that choosing their future profession directly without considering their personality and interest would bring consequences such as the wasting time and money. It is not uncommon that some student leave their university in mid-term although their payment and time have already been wasted because they find their chosen major tedious and difficult to learn. For instance, if a person chooses a major not based on their own, but on their parents’ opinion, they are prone to get tired before graduate.

In conclusion, although working or travelling after graduating secondary-school instead of directly attending university might be a tough and challenging decision, the benefits of discovering their true identity and choosing the appropriate career path is more advantageous in long-term.