Many companies are now tracking employee activity and performance through sophisticated digital tools. While this may increase efficiency, some argue it creates an unhealthy and distrustful work environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement that the benefits of such surveillance outweigh the drawbacks?

Companies would like for their employees to give out their best performance during work hours. With the development of technology companies would like to track their workers productivity with sophisticated digital tools. Some state that these devices increase motivation and increase efficiency while others argue that this is only great if authorities would like to create an unhealthy and distrustful working environment that signals distrust to their employees. I highly agree that a healthy and sustainable work environment is more crucial than a fake one filled with stressful workers that are being controlled by devices.

Increasement of efficiency and motivation may be the results of these trackers. The workers may be working to prove their best while working. This way the employees might motivate each other to work with more productivity. Although this seems like a great chance to become a more succesful company to authorities, I highly disagree that this project will remain sustainable. After a certain amount of time these trackers will be the death of these workers since they will feel nothing but drained all the time.

Moreover an unhealthy and non supportive work environment will lead the workers to quit their jobs and find a better job that treats them like individuals that matter instead of robots. Tracking people over a certain age may also make them feel like they are distrustful and unworthy. I am very much convinced that everyone should spend their working experiences in a place that makes them feel worth it and faithful.

To put it consicely, the development of technology have led companies to track their workers from different desired technological devices. At first these trackers could lead to astonishing levels of productivity and motivation but these will not last forever. The mounting amount of tracking will cause an extreme level of stress and decrease the workers motivation and lead them to quit and find a new job that cherishes them.