In many large cities,many people are living alone or as a small family unit rather than living in extended families Is it negative or positive development?

In our modern times, people prefer to reside in small households with their immediate families rather than with large or extended ones. I truly believe that this development has both positive and negative sides; however, large households outweigh the negative.

To begin with, extended families have a greater emotional impact on members. A great example is when a family member struggles with something; at that moment, the support of the closest ones plays a crucial role in maintaining a strong family connection, preserving a positive atmosphere, and enhancing the family’s well-being. However, there may be particular moments when arguments or disagreements may happen, but those situations may not have as great negative effect as the lack of attention for a particular member of the family.

In contrast, there are other amenities that big households do not have. For instance, having personal space is the privilege of people who live with their immediate families. Also, the attention from parents is equally divided for each child, not leaving anyone behind. Nevertheless, there are certain drawbacks as well. By prioritising comfort, the ties with relatives weaken as time passes, but this issue was already solved, as today we have quick access to electronic devices. Another problem is the enormous amount of expectations that parents have for the future of their children, so children feel peer pressure to try to prove themselves.

In conclusion, both sides have their pos and cons; however, I believe that the importance of a strong connection outweighs the comfort of living alone or in small families.