Some people think that government is wasting money on the arts and that is money could be batter spent elswhere

Art is often seen everywhere and is an important part of a country’s culture, with a large number of people who create art. If art had not existed, how would humanity have expressed its emotions, ideas and cultural identity? It is a topic debated around the world; as many people exist, so many viewpoints there are. Consequently, should governments spend on the arts or is it a waste of money?

On the one hand, art develops people’s imagination by being created from banal things, making them brighter and more attractive, and encouraging new ways of thinking. It preserves cultural identity and history. If you mention or pay attention to something, your brain can make associations with popular things you have seen before, like the Eiffel Tower in Paris – an extremely recognizable landmark. Moreover, the public can invest in museums, theatres and cultural programmes that support education and help develop tourism and the country’s economy.

On the other hand, it requires part of a limited budget, and priorities will always be in healthcare, improving educational programmes and urban development. Art is subjective – for some it has great value or even a reason for living; however, for others it is a pointless waste of money. In contrast to reliable projects, for example a new bridge that would reduce traffic jams, an art project may seem unjustified and expensive.

In conclusion, artists have an important role in culture and personal development even if their value is not clear to everyone. Governments should fund some artistic projects to develop the country and support future generations, but should not overuse funds because other spheres of life are more important.