Some people think that governments should spend money on developing public transportation systems, while others believe that money should be spent on improving roads and highways. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Write at least 250 words.

It is vital that successful governments pay close attention to develop both public transport systems and improving roads and highways, however in my view i think that developing public transport systems is key for a well developed city.

One reason i believe so is due to the current alarming rate of global warming, Due to the effects of global warming, essential eco-systems have been harmed inevitably causing endangerment of multiple species in the current plethora of animals, Furthermore ice-caps melting has resulted in dangerously high sea levels which risks flooding major cities such as Mumbai, New York and Tokyo, these three cities house millions of people hence shows the severity of the situation, A major contributor to depletion of the ozone layer which causes global warming is emission of gases such as carbon dioxide, carbon monoxide and Sulphur dixoxde which are bi-products that are released during the combustion of petrol vehicles. Harvard study suggests that over 2.1 ton’s of carbon dioxide is released due to combustion of petrol vehicles hence to lessen the effects of this, Public should be encouraged to use public transport systems. Citizens would only use public transport system if they are well connected, clean and affordable hence governments should invest in public transport systems.

On the other hand it is vital that governments invest satisfactory amounts of money into development of roads and highways. One of the multiple reasons why is due to the fact that well connected roads reduce congestion, reducing congestion leads to better flow of traffic which ultimately means that industries can transport goods much more efficiently which leads to a stronger economy. This domino effect may be easy to ignore yet effective roads and highways is a key reason for a strong economy which comes back to the citizens if the country makes healthy amounts of cash due to imports and exports, Finally ambulances use these roads and can be vital to save lives of many people. Patients in need of critical help need attention quickly hence if roads are clear, well maintained and has highways to connect cities, this would save millions of lives.

However i still think that the dangers of global warming that can be reduced from citizens using public transport far outweigh effects of roads and highways. Global warming endangers the survivability of human kind.