Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Do you agree or disagree? Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The topic of retirement age is widely debated, as some people believe that having the same retirement age for everyone is unfair. The retirement process in India is a continuous argument topic. There are few who think that a fixed age of 65 years should be set for retirement. I strongly believe that, there should be a separate age for each occupation to get retired.

There is no doubt that some occupations like clerk, teacher, manager for bank, etc should require some experienced employee. For example, Teacher is a job position where age should not be decided for the retirement, because it is widely believed that learning from old people is always a better option as they are more familiar through their past experience. I have seen many PhD. professors are majorly hired in universities or colleges. To gain that PhD. Degree, it takes around 5-8 years of study, after completing a school. As a result, these people are mainly hired after certain age, in which basic IT firm employee has already started having increments in their profession. Deciding an age for the professors to retire will give them limited time to see growth in their career. Others are high-risk professions or emergency responder’s professions retire earlier. In these professions such as fire-fighters, policemen, and Army men should requires a good physique of body and also their eyes, heart and other body parts should work perfect without any health concern. So, in this case, they should be retired before they touch their 60’s, and then a pension should be provided to support their future.

To conclude, having the same retirement age for all job is not fair, because some workers need to be more physically fit than others and on other hand there are some occupations in which people should be allowed to work till they feel to get retire, so that they can gain more recommendations in their job.