Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Do you agree or disagree? Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The topic of retirement age is widely debated, as some people believe that having the same retirement age for everyone is unfair. The retirement process in India is a continuously argued topic. There are a few who think that a fixed age of 65 years should be set for retirement. I strongly believe that there should be a separate retirement age for each occupation.

There is no doubt that some occupations, like clerk, teacher, bank manager, etc., should require some experienced employees. For example, teaching is a job position where age should not be a deciding factor for retirement, because it is widely believed that learning from older people is always a better option, as they are more familiar with their past experiences. I have seen many PhD professors who are majorly hired in universities or colleges. To gain that PhD degree, it takes around 5–8 years of study after completing school. As a result, these people are mainly hired after a certain age, at which basic IT firm employees have already started receiving increments in their professions. Deciding an age for professors to retire will give them limited time to see growth in their careers. Other high-risk professions or emergency responder professions have earlier retirements. In these professions, such as firefighters, police officers, and army personnel, a good physique is required, and their eyes, heart, and other body parts should function perfectly without any health concerns. So, in this case, they should be retired before they reach their 60s, and then a pension should be provided to support their future.

To conclude, having the same retirement age for all jobs is not fair, because some workers need to be more physically fit than others, and, on the other hand, there are some occupations in which people should be allowed to work until they feel ready to retire, so that they can gain more experience in their jobs.