Some people think that having a set retirement age (e.g. 65 years) for everybody, regardless of occupation, is unfair. They believe that certain workers deserve to retire and receive a pension at an earlier age. Do you agree or disagree? Which types of workers do you think should benefit from early retirement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

There’s a social belief that the retirement bar should vary depending on your type of job. I strongly believe that everyone should be treated differently since some occupations can worsen your health more significantly than others like coal miners and firefighters. Whereas, white collars are not affected by their jobs in the same way as blue collars.

First of all, every country has an employment policy which regulates work conditions in any environment. Based on this law, an employer must provide a safe environment for the employees. However, there are plenty of jobs where you cannot safeguard employees from unforeseen circumstances including miners, plant workers, loaders, etc. For example, I used to work at the chemical factory where during a 12-hours shift you are responsible for the complex technological process and the equipment. Being in a dangerous and explosive environment drastically affects your health, especially lungs and skin.

Secondly, there are high-risky jobs ensuring security and safety of the society like police officers, firefighters, soldiers, etc. These people rescue their lives for the sake of others. Police secures you, firefighters help you at any accident, army defends a country and preserves peace.. They definitely deserve to retire earlier since they serve their nation.

To sum up, we have to take into account occupation when setting a retirement bar. Harsh work conditions, a risky environment, and a social effect are influencing the lifespan of people involved in them. Hence, it’s fair to reward workers from particular industries with earlier retirement.