Some people think that it is a waste of time for an individual to plan for the future and that it is more important to focus on the present. Do you agree or disagree?

Attitudes toward life vary, with some putting forward an idea that the present moment is more crucial, and the future should be overlooked. While I agree with the former part of this opinion, I view the preparation for the future as an important decision.

Living in the moment beautifully is arguably a vital consideration. A simple key to success is to concentrate on the people around you, the place you are in, and the situation you have to face. Accepting the contemporary situation, and living it in the most positive way possible is an attitude that yields desirable effects. Conversely, those who are occupied with past failures or successes tend to be either miserable or too obsessed with their accomplishments, leading to a pessimistic or unrealistic view of life. Therefore, it is commonly suggested that the present should be prioritized to lead a cheerful and happy life.

Nevertheless, this does not necessarily mean the future should be totally ignored, particularly from a financial perspective. Retirement plans, for instance, can be a valuable decision as some elderly with poor planning are likely to suffer from insufficient savings or lack of support from their family network. Moreover, the thoughtless use of financial resources to live the moment in the best way possible may pose dire consequences: unnecessary waste of money for temporary satisfaction may lead to hardships in the future. For this reason, financial planning with the future in mind is essential.

Furthermore, on an ethical level, the focus on the present enjoyment at the expense of future responsibilities can bring adverse consequences. Such an attitude is common among criminals, who are irresponsible toward future repercussions of their wrongdoings. In contrast, people who take their future into account while acting are able to sacrifice temporary satisfaction for a brighter future. While the idea of robbing a bank, for example, can allow the perpetrators to enjoy a large amount of money, if they are successful in their acts, the future of these criminals is predictably miserable, as they will have to serve years of imprisonment. So, I think the future should be considered on moral grounds, too.

In conclusion, the present is definitely the most important timeframe that needs to be prioritized; however, what we do right now should not harm our future, both financially and ethically. Thus, I disagree that planning for the future is a waste of time.