Some people think that it is a waste of time for an individual to plan for the future and that it is more important to focus on the present. Do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary era, there is vigorous discourse regarding whether it is more conducive to an individual to concentrate on the present rather than future plans. While I am convinced that enjoying the present is vital, it is also imperative to look for the future.

Admittedly, a focus on the present offers for a person some distinct benefits. To clarify, since people are unclear about what problems, can be positive things such as winning the lottery and negative ones like accidents or even death, will happen to them in the future, an escape from the future and a strong concentration on the present could enable them to enjoy their life more thoroughly with any concerns and pressure. Coupled with this, for people who still grapple with their life at present, it can be quite challenging for them to make any plan for their future. For example, there are various parents struggling with financial assistance for their children’s academic path or multifaceted adults facing hardship in securing their employment. Consequently, they should address present problems in a satisfactory manner to stabilise their life more effortlessly rather than look forward to the future.The confluence of these factors underscores the necessity of focusing on the present rather than future.

However, when people’s present life is somewhat stable, a priority for future plans is extremely significant for them. For youngsters and students, as their academic life is fulfilled, they need to make plan for their own future after graduation. A good illustration of this is Vietnamese students who merely focus too much on the present including entertainment, study, and surrounding social circles but forget future plans like improving social skills and choosing future career. Such ignorance likely results in the loss of direction, which potentially not only undermines their career but also their well being and life. Additionally, future preparation often enables individuals to avoid hazardous situations. A case in point is natural disasters like flood, tsunami and storm, in which residents are usually able to minimize unexpected damage regarding fortune and life thanks to future detailed plans in terms of food and fostering living accommodation. These elements, in turn, suggest the vital role of future plans for an individual

In conclusion, whereas a concentration on the present empowers people to enjoy and settle down their life comfortably, making plans for futures is instrumental in directing and mitigating unexpected damages in dangerous cases. Therefore, each person had better strike a balance between the present and the future to live and thrive more holistically.