Some people think that it would be better for large companies and industry to move to regional areas outside large urban centers. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Some individuals argue that large companies and industries should relocate to smaller regional areas outside of region centers. I personally strongly think that the advantages outweigh the drawbacks because relocation would create more working places.

One main advantage of big companies and industries moving to smaller cities is the creation of working spaces for local people. When, for instance, big tech companies such as Microsoft or Google will move their headquarters to smaller and less developed areas it will eventually create working places and consequently make the city economy better. Moreover, companies and new employees will pay more taxes causing growth of local infrastructure and improving overall quality of life.

Despite these advantages, there are also negative aspects such as pollution of these small regional areas. When huge companies or industries relocate somewhere they also bring with them a lot of unpleasant factors for the local environment such as factories or plants and that results in CO2 emissions and pollution in local areas. Also when such companies or industries move to smaller cities or towns they cause the expansion and they will eventually become new urban centers. For example, a region in Ukraine named Kharkiv was really small and cozy to live in, until large companies and coal-mining industries were moved there and polluted the area. As a result of these actions, it became a new urban center.

To conclude, It is my firm belief that the advantages such as creation of new places of work and general region development outweigh the disadvantages. But the importance of knowing about drawbacks in form of pollution must be taken into consideration.