Some people think that it would be better for large companies and industry to move to regional areas outside large urban centers. Do you think the advantages outweight the disadvantages?

The past few decades have seen a dramatic growth in cities’ pollution, due to the increased numbers of factories and manufacturing plants being constructed in large cities. It is believed by a certain group of people that the big industries and large organizations should shift from metropolitan cities to their outskirts. I partially agree that the benefits exceed the drawbacks. This essay will demonstrate several reasons to support this opinion with relevant examples.

To commence with the positive outcomes, firstly, factories which are developed in congested places inside cities can expand their capacity by moving their plants to suburban areas. To elaborate, it is often noticeable that several organizations which perhaps needed to develop their businesses after a certain period of time, were bound due to a lack of sufficient space. Hence, by shifting their plants to semi-rural areas, they can expand their operations. Secondly, industries at the heart of large cities are the main source of pollution. As a result, it can cause several diseases for individuals living in cities. If those organizations are able to shift their plants to other areas, it will definitely reduce city pollution.

Shifting towards the negative consequences, primarily, large companies may face a lack of resources, which are crucial to produce their products and for transportation as well. Thus, it will create a big hindrance for the growth of their businesses. Furthermore, big factories and organizations are the main sources of income for city people. Consequently, if those plants are shifted to any farther location, then it might enhance the unemployment issue.

To encapsulate, although it seems beneficial for organizations and cities’ individuals as it can provide plenty of space for businesses to expand and can reduce the pollution level in urban areas, it brings about several negative consequences which cannot be ignored, such as unemployment issues at large in cities and a lack of resources to support large-scale manufacturing of big industries.