Some people think that modern technology is making people less sociable, while others believe that it helps people to communicate more effectively. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In contemporary society, technology has undergone immense progress and has enhanced human life in various aspects. However, when it comes to social relationships, some people argue that this advancement is making individuals increasingly detached from each other, while others believe that it is creating more connections than ever before. This essay examines these two perspectives before reaching a conclusion about whether the former or the latter holds more truth.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that modern technology has helped people to connect far more easily than in the past. Via the Internet, they can communicate as well as make friends with one another even when coming from entirely different places in the world. For example, a user from Vietnam can meet another person from Germany online and they may begin to form a friendship after some conversations, all thanks to social networks. Moreover, family members who live overseas are also able to keep in contact with their loved ones by means of different digital tools, maintaining strong family bonds even when being far away. In addition, online users usually make a plethora of friends when using social networks, which is indicative of the fact that people nowadays have significantly larger social circles than before. Overall, we cannot deny that information technology contributes to enhancing communication, thereby expanding the social relations of individuals along with fortifying bonds that they already have.

On the other hand, it is an inescapable truth that there are several setbacks of technology in terms of social connections not to be overlooked. Modern humans live among too many distractions in their life, including electronic devices such as mobile phones and computers. Not only do these gadgets impede working productivity, but they also cause individuals to be absorbed in games as well as social media, preventing them from socializing with others. Furthermore, even when we know that the virtual space creates many more relations for Internet users, these connections are largely superficial. Someone may have up to thousands of friends online whom they might chat with, yet in real life there are only a few dozens that they actually hang out with. Therefore, even as digital advancements help to establish plenty of new acquaintances, people generally spend less time with each other in the real world today.

From my personal perspective, whereas technology does increase the circle of friendships on the Web, it has unquestionably led to more isolation because users have become increasingly addicted to devices and at the same time neglecting their real relationships. In other words, individuals now possess myriads of connections compared to before but most are actually hollow, while the more substantial bonds have become eroded due to excessive usage of electronic gadgets.

In the final analysis, even though digital tools allow for easier and more far-reaching communication, relationships between individuals have been diminished by them. People are now reliant on technology to such an extent that they can barely spare time for their close ones, raising the concern for humans’ social life in the modern era. Ultimately, everyone can take advantage of technological development to extend their social circles, but they ought to prioritize their real-life relations in order not to let these close-knit bonds drift away.