Some people think that money is one of the most essential factors in promoting happiness. Do you think people can be happy without much money? What other factors contribute towards happiness?

It is thought by many that having a good bank balance is a key factor to be satisfied in life. While I think that people need decent financial security in order to find happiness, there are other equally important—if not more—parameters to consider.

People need a minimum amount of money in order to meet their basic necessities, without which life may not be fulfilling. For example, money is essential to afford nutritious food, children’s education, and healthcare. Apart from that, money also provides for family entertainment and recreation, helping to nurture relationships.

However, there are other crucial factors equally contributing to life’s fulfillment, namely a satisfying job, deep relationships, and spiritual practices. Most people in today’s society are dissatisfied because of a lack of job opportunities suiting their psycho-physical natures. Finding a career aligning with one’s passion gives a great sense of absorption in life. Along with that, deep and long-lasting relationships with one’s wife, children, and other family members and friends, developed over years through love and trust, make life cherishable. In addition to these factors, if one also cultivates spiritual practices such as meditation, chanting mantras, studying spiritual books, and associating with saintly people, one can find a deeper meaning to life, which cannot be shaken by any financial challenges that may inevitably arise in one’s life.

In conclusion, although I feel that people do need a certain minimum financial status to fulfill their basic requirements, there are also other significant factors—having satisfying work, meaningful relationships, and spiritual outlook—contributing to overall happiness.