Some people think that public transport should be free, especially in big cities. Do you think free public transportation will have more advantages or disadvantages.

in recent years, improvements of public transportation have made traveling easier and more convenient. Many people think public transport should be free, specifically in big cites. Increasingly more customers are taking advantage of this by implementing public transports almost for free. I completely agree with this point of view as it encourages people to use them avoiding to use their own vehicles and solve the environmental issues such as global warming may be addressed by this action.

To begin with, one of the significant drawbacks of free public transportation is misusing by unnecessary travelers. To be specific, some people may use public transport excessively for short or unnecessary trips, wasting resources and causing congestion. To take a person who needs to walk 150 meters as an example, he might refuse to move on foot and can select to go by bus. As a result, they may squander petroleum that others could use for their own benefit. Another important demerit of free mass transit is that the quantity of users may increase, whereas the quality of service can see a slight decline. In fact, Authorities may prioritize covering routes rather than improving service quality. To illustrate, public transit agencies might ignore complaints about delays or cleanliness since passengers are not paying. In turn, it may cause controversial arguments for both sides.

Nevertheless, one of the main advantages of a free public transport system is that it helps to reduce traffic congestion in urban areas. In fact, many individuals may stop using their private vehicles because they want to avoid additional expenses such as fuel and parking fees. As a consequence, the possibility of traffic jams may decrease dramatically.

Another compelling advantage of free public transportation is that it encourages people to help address issues related to air pollution. More specifically, when many people choose not to use their own cars, it means that they produce fewer greenhouse gas emissions. Consequently, air pollution-related problems, such as global warming, might be mitigated in this way.

Having considered both sides, I personally believe that the benefits of free public transportation outweigh its drawbacks, although there are still some strong arguments against its implementation.