Some people think that robots are very important to human's future development, while others think they are dangerous and have negative effects on society. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Over the past few decades, significant strides have been made in the development of robots and there is now divergence of opinions about what the future with these technologies will be like. While some remain optimistic about the possibilities robots could offer to us, others have expressed fears over the negative implications and threats they could cause. I personally see the role of robots for future developments as positive.

True, concerns over the potential repercussions of robots on society seem valid. One most common threat they pose is possible job displacements. Robots are already taking over people in many repetitive and manual jobs and this, as a result, has raised public concerns over what if these machines will eventually make everyone redundant. Moreover, some people also fear over existential risks robots may pose to humanity. Such a pessimistic view highlights that if robots become superintelligent, they could eventually threaten humanity’s survival.

However, I believe that robots are integral to future advancements across many areas of our lives. Self-driving cars, for instance, have shown promising results and are expected to improve safety on roads significantly. As these cars are usually infallible unlike human drivers whose faults are responsible for the majority of accidents. Clearly, driverless cars might not only reduce the number of road collisions, saving human lives but also make roads safer for pedestrians alike. Another great potential of robots is in the advancements of medicine. Robots such as da Vinci already assist in surgeries with great precision. There are also hopes that AI-driven robots will be able to conduct complex surgeries on their own, completely revolutionizing medicine.

In conclusion, fears over the negative consequences of the intrusion of robots into our lives are well-founded. Nevertheless, I think the potential for these machines to transform our lives for the better is worth such adverse implications.