SOME PEOPLE THINK THAT SCHOOLS ARE NO LONGER BENEFICIAL. OTHERS, HOWEVER, INSIST THAT SCHOOL STILL PLAYS A CENTRAL ROLE IN OUR LIVES.

People hold varying views as to whether or not schools are still beneficial. However, I personally believe although technologies like the internet and artificial intelligence, as well as some education systems lacking quality can encourage some to dislike traditional schooling, schools have not lost their preliminary function – preparing students for real life.

From one point of view, what opponents of traditional schooling claim is poor quality education. To be more precise, in some parts of the world, where corruption has rooted deep, schools fail to provide children with quality education. Corrupt officials tend to mishandle government funds allocated for education in such countries, meaning that students cannot access basic facilities such as heating, modern library and computer rooms; most of teaching staff are more likely to be unskilled and unexperienced. This, in turn, may encourage parents and youths to opt for various and numerous training and learning centres which have sprouted all over urban areas. Another reason could be the prevalence of such technologies as the internet and AI-based applications on mobile and computer devices. Many websites and online platforms offer a huge amount of information related to different fields of work and study. One can effortlessly access information, ranging from crafts to astronomy, in a home environment. Without having to be physically present at school, children can acquire skills and knowledge in their areas of interest.

However, despite the above factors, schools play a crucial role even in this globalized world. In fact, school can serve as a social hub, where young ones can make new like-minded friends, establish lasting relationships. Moreover, these educational settings play a vital part in shaping childrens mind-set and personality, turning them into the better versions of themselves. Youths are also able to foster necessary skills for life such as communication and negotiation at this stage of education. Philosophically, humans are social creatures, meaning that they need one another for care, support and personal development. Their social cohesion is vital for the betterment of global society. In fact, schools help to create a harmonious society by encouraging tolerance, respect and equality.

In conclusion, different opinions revolve around whether schools still possess significance in todays globalized world, with some supporting, while others opposing them. I, however, believe that despite some issues like poor quality education some schools offer and the prevalence of contemporary technologies, schools are still as beneficial as they were ever before mainly thanks to the opportunities to shape our mind-sets and learn to be an important part of coherent global society.