Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion

Over the years, many individuals believe that students of diverse abilities should study together, while others believe that schools should select students based on their academic ability. Although I am more familiar with the latter opinion, this essay will discuss both viewpoints.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that mixed-ability classes bring about a number of benefits to students’ development. First and foremost, students who study in class with different abilities can learn from their classmates and overcome their shortcomingsFor instance, students who perform well in science but struggle in literature can learn better from their peers, and vice versa. In addition, When studying in a class with many good students, less proficient students can take that as inspiration to get better.

On the other hand, I believe it is better for both students and teachers when grouped based on their academic performance. Initially, teachers can plan more suitable lessons to work at the appropriate speed for them. While high-performing students may progress more quickly with challenging materials, less proficient students can benefit from a less demanding curriculum that allows them to learn at their own pace instead of trying to catch up with gifted people. For example, many countries have specialized schools or classes for gifted students, where the curriculum is tailored suitable for their ability. This focused approach not only helps students achieve higher levels of proficiency but also prepares them for professional success in their chosen fields.

In conclusion, while mixed-ability classes are advantageous for students’ all-round development, I am more inclined to believe that schools should separate students based on their academic abilities for the benefit of both teachers and students.